Start Your Journey

Scouting is adventure, family, fun, character, leadership and so much more. 

The Boy Scouts of America is one of the nation’s largest and most prominent values-based youth development organizations, providing programs for young people that build character.  Boys and girls start with their best right now selves and grow into their very best future selves. It’s fun, hands-on learning, and achievement that puts kids in the middle of the action and prepares them for today – and for life.  

This page is designed to help you become familiar with the various programs within Boy Scouts of America and hopefully make it easier for you to choose the best one for you to join and start having fun.  

Cub Scouts is a family-friendly program for boys and girls who are in kindergarten through fifth grade (ages 5-10). Cub units, called “Packs” & “Dens”, follow a standard curriculum as an age group focusing on learning by doing.  Activities are used to achieve the aims of Scouting; citizenship training, character development, and personal fitness. 

Cub Scouts have the time of their lives making new friends and learning new things in an environment designed to help them succeed. From building their own Pinewood Derby® car to learning how to roast the perfect marshmallow with their best friends at a family camp out, your child will LOVE being a Cub Scout.  

So, if your child is in the kindergarten through fifth grades, or 5-10 years old and ready for some fun, then it’s time for them to join Cub Scouts!

Scouts BSA is for boys or girls ages 11-17. Scout units, called “Troops”, follow a standard curriculum for youth but at their own pace focusing on learning in the outdoors.  Scouts participate in a wide range of outdoor activities and educational programs in order to learn responsible citizenship, character development and self-reliance.

Scouts learn through the experiences of camping, hiking, building projects, and community service. These experiences allow the youth to grow and mature at their own pace. Scouting provides youth with a sense that they are important as individuals. Finally, and perhaps most importantly, Scouting promotes activities that lead to personal responsibility and high self-esteem. As a result, when hard decisions have to be made, peer pressure can be resisted and the right choices can be made.  

So, if your child is age 11-17 and ready learn some life skills, then it’s time for them to join Scouts BSA!

Venturing is a co-ed program for young men and women ages 14-20.  Venturing units, called “Crews”, usually have a focus area; like outdoors, cooking, music, etc.  Venturing’s purpose is to provide positive experiences to help youth mature and prepare them to become responsible adults.

Venturing is fun and full of challenge and adventure.  They acquire skills in the area of their crew’s chosen specialty.  They become a skilled training and program resource for other Scouting groups.  They experience positive leadership from adult and youth leaders and are given opportunities to take on leadership roles of their own.  

So, if your child is age 14-20 and ready for the next level of challenge and adventure, it’s time for them to join Venturing!

Sea Scouts is a co-ed program for young men and women ages 14-20.  Sea Scout units, called “Ships” usually have a focus like recreational boating, marine industry, or military.  Sea Scouts develop better citizenship and boating skills through instruction and practice in water safety, boating skills, outdoor, social, service experiences, and knowledge of our maritime heritage. 

Sea Scout ships use a variety of boats from small outboard motorboats to large sailing yachts and vessels. No matter what their ship does, they will discover thrills you just can’t get anywhere else.  Sea Scouts are recognized and rewarded for the things they learn and do. They can earn valuable certifications in SCUBA, boating safety, lifesaving, and CPR, as well as advance in rank from Apprentice to Quartermaster. Each certification and level of advancement marks their growth as a sailor and a leader. 

So, if your child is age 14-20 and ready for the next level of challenge and adventure on the water, it’s time for them to join Sea Scouting!

Exploring is a co-ed career learning program for young men and women ages 14-20. Exploring units, called “Posts”, have a focus on a single career field; such as police, fire/rescue, health, law, aviation or engineering. 

Exploring is broken up into three separate programs: Business, Law Enforcement, and Fire & Emergency Services.  Exploring’s purpose is to provide experiences that help young people mature and to prepare them to become responsible and caring adults. Explorers are ready to investigate the meaning of interdependence in their personal relationships and communities.  

So, if your child is age 14-20 and ready to explore a potential career, it’s time for them to join Exploring!

How to verify an out of Council Merit Badge Counselor.

First, try to connect the Scout and counselor in Scoutbook. If that is successful, the counselor is registered and qualified. If unsuccessful, go to the counselor’s home council and search for their Advancement Administrators. Most will have an email address for either the Council Advancement Committee or Professional Advisor. Send an email asking if the counselor has been registered and qualified for the merit badge(s) in question and the status of their Youth Protection Training. Ask California councils if the counselor has completed AB506 training and LiveScan. The unit leader’s “blue card” signature verifies their counselor credentials verification.


Sea Scouts




Shooting Sport


Scouting for Food

Order of the Arrow